• Dr. David Jonathan Gross
  • Gallery
  • Video

Gross was awarded the 2004 Nobel Prize in Physics, with David Politzer and Franz Wilczek for their discovery of asymptotic freedom.

Gross’s numerous honors include:

  • 2008: San Carlos Boromero Award, University of San Carlos, Philippines
  • 2005: Recipient Golden Plate Award, Academy of Achievement
  • 2004: Nobel Prize in Physics
  • 2004: Grande Medaille D’or de l’Academie des Science, France
  • 2003: High Energy and Particle Physics Prize, European Physical Society
  • 2000: Oscar Klein Medal, Royal Swedish Academy
  • 2000: Harvey Prize, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
  • 1988: Dirac Medal, International Center for Theoretical Physics
  • 1987: MacArthur Foundation Fellowship Prize
  • 1986: J. J. Sakurai Prize of the American Physical Society
  • 1970-1974: Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellow
  • 1963-1966: NSF Graduate Fellowship

Membership in Academies and Societies

  • Member, Academie Internationale de Philosophie des Sciences, elected 2009
  • Fellow, TWAS (The academy of sciences for the developing world), elected 2007
  • Foreign Fellow, Indian National Science Academy, elected 2007
  • Member, American Philosophical Society, elected 2007
  • Fellow, Indian Academy of Science, Bangalore, India, elected 2007
  • Honorary Fellow of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, 2006
  • Fellow, European Academy of Sciences, elected 2004
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, elected 1987
  • Member, National Academy of Sciences, elected 1986
  • Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, elected 1985
  • Fellow, American Physical Society, elected 1974

He holds honorary degrees from the US, Britain, France, Israel, Brazil, Belgium and China. His membership includes the US National Academy of Science, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, the Indian Academy of Science and the Chinese Academy of Science.